March Ingredient

March 7, 2008 at 5:51 pm | Posted in Challenges, Ingredient Announcements | 30 Comments

There were so many great ideas for March and while I loved all of the St. Patty’s Day ideas, I decided to take it in a different direction. I’m not so sure about the rest of the world, but in the US, the easter bunny brings the best candy. Halloween is just mini candy, valentines day you get conversation hearts and read hots, but easter is the mother load of great candy. From the beloved Peeps to jelly beans and Cadbury Creme eggs, Easter just has the best candy. That being said, the March ingredient is ….

EASTER CANDY

All Easter candy is free game. The rules are the same as last time. My one request this month because I know there’s going to be temptation to do it, please don’t just stick a peep on top of something random you happen to bake :P

For those of you outside of the US, I’m not sure if you have the easter bunny and easter candy don’t worry, there are options for you too. Jelly beans I’m told are available just about anywhere. I found a recipe for homemade peeps HERE and shaped chocolates made for kids will work too.

Because I’m going away the first weekend in April and won’t be able to get started baking anyway, you have until April 6th to get your entries in.  Have fun and good luck, I have a feeling this month could be very interesting!

30 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This right here is why I’m so in love with you. You even put up a pic of my favourite thing!!!

  2. Fun! Can’t wait to see what everyone creates!

  3. omg so fun! Thanks MasterBaker! I have some fun candy ideas already! w00t! :)

  4. Oh wow…the little chicks in my head are starting to chirp at this one….

  5. This is going to be fun!! I’m already starting to brainstorm!!

  6. oh boy, i’m excited!! I LURVE Easter candy!

  7. This is a GREAT ingredient! I can’t wait to do it! I think I have an idea for it.

    Is it wrong that I’ve been checking obsessively every day to see when the new ingredient will be revealed? :lol:

  8. ^definitely not wrong at all :)

  9. Hmm, the wheels in my brain are definetly turning… I think I’ll wait until after Easter to make it though, then I can buy all the candy cheap. :)

  10. That will be fun! I will have to see what kind of peruvian easter candy I can find here! Thanks for the challenge!

  11. NinaBeth, you read my mind!

  12. Hehe thanks nikki57! :D

  13. LOVE IT!!!

  14. looks interesting! we dont have peeps in NZ – Easter is really just chocolate, but I will try and do something interesting!!!!

  15. Finally I have chance to use all those chocolate eggs. In Indonesia for easter kids do eggs hunt with real boiled eggs, not chocolate eggs. Would that be better for the kids?

  16. Cadbury eggs are my achilles heel. I am SO not a candy person. honest. but those ridiculously disgusting gooey milk chocolate things get me every single year. My mom always buys them cause she believes in corrupting her kids and being evil like that- ACK!

  17. […] Favorite Easter Basket Filler The most recent Master Baker challenge got me thinking.  Most of us have a favorite candy or candy bar.  But what is your favorite […]

  18. Cheep cheep…the head is beginning to think & FAST! Sorry I missed the earlier one…all the fault of the DB yeast which scared the life out of me. I’m braver now & shall start venturing out…Love the sound of Master baker!

  19. how fun! i can’t wait to see the roundup. unfortunately, i will be out of town and unable to submit anything before the deadline for this month’s challenge :( there’s always next month though….

    oh, and i agree that easter has the best candy ;)

  20. we don’t have peeps in Ireland either (first time i ever heard of them was just now reading your post!) easter candy choice here is also mainly just chocolate eggs and some chocolate bunnies…so i’ll really need to get my baking cap on…hmmmm!

  21. To those of you who can’t find Peeps, they’re just marshmallows rolled in colored sugar – easy enough to replicate. I’ve never understood their popularity. I find them overly sweet and flavorless if eaten straight. However, as an ingredient, marshmallow can work wonders, so I’m curious to see how people decide to use them. I’ll be going with a different candy, myself.

  22. It took me a while to figure out what peeps were- I thought they were short for people at first although that didn’t quite make sense :lol: I finally saw them in a candy store chain that sells a lot of overseas candy (Sugar Fix)

  23. I have to confess that I still have no idea what I’m going to do short of breaking up some chocolate and throwing it in a batch of cookies. Not very creative on my part.

  24. I love this idea – might actually submit something to a challenge for the first time ever…I’m quite excited about it!

  25. […] Masterbaker’s March Event: Easter Candy […]

  26. Nikki — Just to let you know that I just sent you an entry for the March event. Thx

  27. when it comes to free games, i always look for free flash games because they have small file sizes `;*

  28. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely excellent. I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a great site.

  29. […] entry for this month’s Master Baker challenge is a recipe I cut out of Cooking Light magazine in 1999. My kids are not crazy about malted-milk […]

  30. […] Blondie Bites are my submission for Master Baker – Easter Candy hosted by Nikki from Crazy Delicious, also the creator of Master […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

