April: Vanilla

April 14, 2008 at 8:49 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 21 Comments

I got back from vacation last weekend and ended up sick all last week so I’ve just started baking Easter Candy delights and I’m working on putting the round up together.

In the mean time, who wants to know our next ingredient?

Vanilla!  You can use either extract or the full beans (which are even better).

You have until May 10th to bake your Vanilla goodies so get your baking caps on and have fun!

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ohmygod. I am totally gonna rock this one… just declare me the winner now. Save yourself the trouble ;)

  2. Wow, this will be fun. That leaves us quite a lot of creative leeway! I’m excited to start trying stuff out.

  3. Ooh, that makes for a lot of options. I hope you’re feeling better! :)

  4. OoOoo I have something in mind already. Glad you are feeling a little better babe!

  5. My favorite ingredient for my favorite month (I’m a May baby), yippie!

  6. I’ve been looking for a great excuse to to try a vanilla bean again! Perfect choice!

  7. Great choice! Can we use vanilla bean paste too?

  8. Holly – vanilla bean paste is fair game!

  9. Shoot, my extract won’t be ready in time, I’ll have to come up with something else amazing. :)

  10. Okay, YUM! I was going to make vanilla cupcakes this weekend anyway…hmmm… :)

  11. […] This is my entry for two competitions. I decided I would make two flavours of animals, both with a cupcake base of sesame and vanilla but I would make a Panda one filled with green tea creme patiserrie for the Sugar High Friday Asian sweet invasion challenge and a Bear one filled with vanilla creme patisserie for the Master Baker April Vanilla challenge. […]

  12. […] In a practical sense, I wanted to differentiate the vanilla custard filled vanilla & sesame cupcakes from those filled with green tea custard. So what better way aside from sticking your finger inside (so lacking decorum but fun) than to give the cupcake an entirely different look. So instead of Pandas to signify the Green tea custard, I used Bears to signify Vanilla. I do realise that a filling such as honey would have been more appropriate but I had to work with what I had. So using the same directions as on my Panda cupcakes with some rejigging of the decorations (described in the story), I present my family of Bears. A Sesame bean with vanilla bean custard filling, just in time for the April Master Baker challenge! […]

  13. Hi Nikki,

    I recently found the Master Baker blog via the Easter Candy theme. Eager to see the roundup and learn if anyone attempted baking with a Cadbury cream egg :)

    I’ve made a submission for this months “vanilla” event and have e-mailed you the information.

    Thank you for hosting!

  14. […] this month when I was reading the new Master Baker ingredient, I was pleased to see it was vanilla!  Earlier this month I bought a bunch of organic […]

  15. […] also making my entry for the Master Baker Challenge, and making crab cakes for dinner tonight. I’m using Ina Garten’s recipe for the cakes, […]

  16. hey Nikki!
    I just posted by Vanilla entry on my blog. Please take a peek! Had fun doing this, thanks again for hosting! :)
    http://www.thebakingbeauties.blogspot.com

  17. […] the recipes highlight vanilla, I thought this would be a perfect entry for the Master Baker Challenge, hosted by Master […]

  18. […] Apple Cake is being served up for Master Baker – Vanilla hosted by Nikki from Crazy Delicious, also the creator of Master […]

  19. Wow enjoyed reading your article. I submitted your feed to my google reader.

  20. After I originally left a comment I seem to
    have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added-
    checkbox and now every time a comment is added I recieve four emails with the same comment.
    There has to be a way you are able to remove me
    from that service? Cheers!

  21. “April: Vanilla | Masterbaker’s Weblog”
    ended up being seriously compelling and insightful! In todays universe honestly, that
    is tough to carry out. Regards, Andres


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

